Upcoming Virtual Events


Throughout the year, we host a variety of virtual events at no cost to you. If you're interested in attending any of the events below, send us an email at rod.gibbings@igpwm.ca and let us know which one.

2022 Q3 Market Outlook

Money and Youth Workshop with CFEE
Thursday, August 11, 2022
12 pm PT | 1 pm MT | 2 pm CT | 3 pm ET | 4 pm AT | 4:30 pm NL

In partnership with the Canadian Foundation for Economic Education (CFEE), we invite you to a unique workshop geared towards helping the youth in your life remove the stress from financial planning for education, and helping them gain a positive relationship with money.

This free and engaging financial literacy session is open to all ages, but is specifically targeted towards youth, parents and grandparents. Invite the young people in your life to join you for this workshop. It will be valuable to recent graduates of high school, attendees of post-secondary educational institutions and young people just starting out in their careers.

 



Past Virtual Events

 

2022 Q3 Market Outlook

2022 Q3 Market Outlook: Trends that dominate the investment landscape
Thursday, June 9, 2022
11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET | 3 pm AT | 3:30 pm NL

IG Wealth Management invites you and a guest to join our Chief Investment Strategist Philip Petursson as we review the Q3 Market Outlook.
 
The session will cover:

- Where we are in the economic cycle
- The direction for earnings growth
- How we can use a data driven approach to keep us on the right path

There will also be a virtual Q&A session where Philip will answer your questions live.

finances & dementia

Finances and Dementia: Advice for the journey
Thursday, May 5, 2022
10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 2 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

More than 500,000 Canadians are living with dementia today, a number projected to double in less than 10 years. The impact doesn't stop there, because 1 in 5 Canadians have experience caring for someone with dementia. 

The seniors, parents and grandparents of our communities often face unique financial challenges that come with age. For those facing the journey with dementia, the need for advice has never been greater. 

Join Christine Van Cauwenberghe, Head of Financial Planning, IG Wealth Management, and Dr. Saskia Sivananthan, Chief Research & Knowledge Translation Officer, Alzheimer Society of Canada for this interactive webinar. 

Together they will provide: 

- Tips and tools for wealth planning for aging individuals
- Advice for caregivers and people living with dementia
- Tax considerations and resources available for Canadians

Navigating the new normal

Navigating the new normal
Thursday, April 28, 2022
12 pm PT | 1 pm MT | 2 pm CT | 3 pm ET | 4 pm AT | 4:30 pm NL

Join Chief Investment Strategist Philip Petursson for an in-depth discussion on market volatility, global turmoil, and future opportunities. Philip will be joined by Christine Van Cauwenberghe, Head of Financial Planning, who will discuss financial planning issues that have concerned clients during the pandemic, and ways to plan for life’s ups and downs.

Invest In Our Planet

Invest in our planet: The sustainable economy
Thursday, April 21, 2022
10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 2 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

Earth Day 2022 takes place on April 22nd and this year’s theme is 'Invest in our Planet.' This pre-Earth Day webinar will help you understand why many investors are getting in on the opportunity to take part in the sustainable economy with topics including:

- Balancing our short-term needs and our future sustainability: climate change and the energy crisis
- The capital needed to sustain our planet: different ways that investors can participate
- Managing global emissions: the role of decarbonization versus nature-based solutions (carbon offsets)
- Sustainability beyond climate: other considerations that every investor should know

Our panel includes Fate Saghir (Head of Sustainable, Responsible & Impact Investing, Mackenzie Investments), Philip Petursson (Chief Investment Strategist, IG Wealth Management), Justin Cochrane (Founder & CEO, Carbon Streaming Corporation), and Andrew Simpson (SVP, Portfolio Manager, Mackenzie Investments).

Retirement For Today

Retirement for today’s changing world: Exposing the top five myths of retirement planning
Thursday, February 24, 2022
4 pm PT | 5 pm MT | 6 pm CT | 7 pm ET | 8 pm AT | 8:30 pm NL

Join personal finance expert and bestselling author Melissa Leong, along with IG Wealth Management’s Herp Lamba and Coleen Taylor, as they expose the top myths and guide us through some of the key considerations of retirement planning.

This live and interactive webinar will include a Q&A session with the panel, as well as tackle some of the key questions Canadians have when considering their retirement plan, such as:

- What will your cost of living will be in retirement?
- Are RRSPs all you need for a retirement plan?
- How conservative should an investment portfolio become in retirement?
- Is it possible to carry debt into retirement?
- If I manage my own investments, will it increase my income in retirement